Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Beyond the friend and family facebook likes.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    tealgreen1985
    Participant

I feel like I am in the stage where friends and family love my photography but I don’t know if they are saying it just because they love me. So here I am! I  shot with a point and shoot (nikon coolpix l120) for a a few years and just upgraded to my first DSLR (t3i no judging, that’s what was in my budget). I have been doing nothing but taking photos for the past 3 months since I have been visiting Germany and there is nothing else to do. I would love to get some outsiders opinions. I am definitely not a faux because I don’t charge, and don’t every really plan to, I have only taken photos for friends as favors. I didn’t have a facebook set up for public viewing so I added what I think are some of my better shots into a flickr account.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/95728912@N02/

I understand that some of them have watermarks, I don’t like them but those were photos that were entered into either photo contests or photo challenges and I wanted my name on them.  Alright ready, set, GO!

Thom
    Participant

Hi Teal,

I like your work. And it seems like you like to do children’s photography. But you don’t have enough images to make an assessment about consistency. They look good though. If Flickr will be the site of your portfolio, may I also suggest (as you have a romantic image there) to separate into categories.

Best,

Thom

Worst Case Scenario
    Participant

I don’t love you so here’s an honest opinion!  The shot of the kid on the bed with the dummy  ( pacifier if you’re  from over there! ) is great. Love the framing, the light and the kids expression. Only problem with it is the DUMMY. The other shots are okay, but none of them have any WOW factor. A good start, keep shooting. With a little practice you’ll soon have some great images.

Sarah
    Participant