Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Be Gentle or Something…

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    mikoyan29
    Participant

I’ve been looking at this website for a while now and I enjoy the pictures that you guys post.  Well I’m not sure enjoy is the right word but I do enjoy the commentary that goes with them.  While I am by no means a professional, I still have to ask the question…am I fauxtog?  I like to think I’m somewhere between crappy and good.  But what do you guys think?  Thanks.

http://michiganexposures.blogspot.com/

Normally I don’t take so many pictures of my action figures but it’s been pretty damn cold here lately.

JLiu
    Participant

Bluntly put – you cannot be a fauxtog if you are not charging for your services. If you’re taking pictures for yourself, you’re a hobbyist. There’s nothing wrong with being a hobbyist.

mikoyan29
    Participant

I did get one of my pictures in Esquire…does that count? 🙂

cameraclicker
    Participant

Nope!  Doesn’t count.  They purchased/used your photo after you took it, so they were getting something tangible.  To qualify as a fauxtographer, you have to be not very good at photography and selling portraiture or wedding services.   You don’t qualify by shooting news, sports, editorial, landscapes, still life, etc., etc., and so on.

To answer your real question, however, I think your own assessment is pretty accurate.  I see some boring photos with some pretty good ones mixed in.  If you are hiding from the weather, try shooting the models with more dramatic lighting and better/cleaner backgrounds.  Try out low key and high key.  See if you can get the white storm troopers on a white background, and have them look good.  Because of the contrast, they should look great on a black background.  You could visit some place like Michael’s Crafts and pick up some foam core board in white and black to use as reflectors, flags, and backgrounds.  Try out grids and snoots on lights.

Bill
    Participant