Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Be gentle, it's my first time…

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Open Focus
    Participant

So it’s not exactly my very first time asking somebody to give me their thoughts on my photography, but it is certainly a first asking an entire community that is so willing to heavily criticize and critique. A majority of my responses are generally along the lines of:

“You’re the best photographer ever!”

“OMG your photos are amazing!!”

Do keep in mind that these are either clients or friends and family who don’t have the heart to tell me if there’s something wrong with my photos. I am in no way a professional, but I do want to take things to the next level and start my own local business with it. I know I’m most likely not “Fauxtog” material, but I don’t want to be categorized as a hobbyist any more.

I have a lot to learn and I am soon moving to a house where I can set up an actual studio so indoor equipment will have to wait until then. I am studying up on lighting techniques and getting to know more about the Nikon I’ve been toting around for a while.  I love shooting outdoors and a majority of my photos are outside. I love dark contrasts and bright colors — I think I may be going overboard with the heavy saturation in some of the children photos but I also try to adjust it to their personality.

So I’ve ranted on long enough. I’m excited to hear feedback. I understand that my photos won’t please everybody but I do want to learn and I think the best way to do that is to ask and be honest. (Also pray that none of my photos end up on the main page.)

Again with the ranting! Thanks for taking the time to read all of this, I greatly appreciate it.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/brokenfocus/

IHF
    Participant