Home Forums Site Information Back up the trash talking?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Al
    Participant

Don’t get me wrong, I love this site, and any/all of these fauxtogs deserve some level of derision.

What I have a problem with is all the cowards that talk trash without posting links to their own work.

I think the ability to comment/post ought to be limited to those willing to post links to their own work.   I hate the courage that is derived from web anonymity.

Not saying I’m an amazing photographer, but I’m happy to stand by my “work” whilst mocking others on this site.

Doubt it’ll happen, but I think it should be implemented as it kind of gives the comments some level of legitimacy.

Anyway..

Al

HennyM
    Participant

Al, this is like asking a book critic who gave a critique to write a better book. or someone who posts a one star review on Amazon.com about any product to make a better working product. Or a customer at a restaurant complaining about a chef’s work. you don’t have to be a chef to know, when the food isn’t great.

critics don’t need to be photographers on this site.  A lot of people have some kind of esthetic value without having to have any artistic talent.

Brownie
    Participant

trash talking or honest criticism?

You can always factor in how they speak about the work to know if they have any idea, I just tend to skimp over replies like that.

Al
    Participant

Henny … we’re not talking professional critics here.  We’re talking about people coming here and (rightfully or wrongfully) trashing something.  But whatever, I’m sure you’re just responding because I called out your husband for being a shit in an early post.