Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Am I?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    juntanpho
    Participant

http://www.flickr.com/photos/passiveflight-photography/

critique (harsh or otherwise) welcomed 🙂

Brownie
    Participant

I looked at your work and was curious as to what you enjoyed photographing the most.

Tell me a little about your work and what you feel is strong with it and what you feel can be improved upon.

juntanpho
    Participant

Well, I’ve been doing this for about 6 months now, and I began with experimenting with everything, people, portraiture, landscapes, the HDR hole (let’s not even go there >.<), but increasingly I found everything else apart from portraiture boring. Last month I did my first wedding, and at first I felt like that was what I wanted to do, but I got so tired just from that one wedding, so I decided not to do more. Right now, I enjoy photographing people the most, especially studio portraiture.

The strong bits of my work? I think that my portraiture really is my strongest field, but I’m not really sure on how to elaborate because I’ve never thought about my work in those terms before. I still feel like I have a lot to work on, but again, unsure of specifics.

Brownie
    Participant

Cool, I understand. The first step into understanding what you do is to question why you do certain things, why do you crop things, compose things a certain way, etc. etc. I was curious if you had really thought about it like that, and it’s definitely okay if you hadn’t.

First thing I notice is that you’re work seems to be very contrasty. Another thing is one some of your recent portraits seem to be  “hot”, or blown out, in the highlights. I think this photograph (http://www.flickr.com/photos/passiveflight-photography/7168068903/in/photostream/) is the strongest portrait you have for me. It’s the most interesting for me.