Home Forums Let’s Talk Photography Canon girl needs info on Nikon and Sony for a class! Reply To: Canon girl needs info on Nikon and Sony for a class!


All Nikon bodies use the F-type mount.  It has been the same mounting since the 60’s, I believe…possibly even earlier.

Camera bodies (Sorta kinda listed in order of quality…but that’s subjective based on opinion)

Crop bodies (AKA “DX”):

Discontinued bodies, but still used:
“Consumer”:  D40, D40x D50, D60, D70, D70s, D3000
Higher-end Consumer :  D5000, D80, D90
“Prosumer” (High end crop bodies with pro options on the body as opposed navigating a menu): D100, D200, D300
Pro (Top end):  D1, D1X, D2H, D2X, D2HS, D2XS

Active…for the most part:
Consumer :  D3100, D3200
Higher-end Consumer: D5100, D5200, D7000
Prosumer:  D300s


Full Frame bodies (AKA “FX”)

Discontinued, but still used:
Prosumer:  D700
Pro:   D3, D3X

Prosumer:  D700, D600, D800, D800e
Pro:   D3S, D4

Lots of jargon with lenses…but here’s the breakdown:

DX – for DX or crop bodies.  Can be used with an FX body, but will have heavy vignetting unless the FX body is set in DX mode.
FX – for FX or full-frame bodies.  Can be used with DX body with no drawbacks, but not really worth purchasing if no intention to move to full frame body
AF-S – Stands for “Autofocus- silent”.  Denotes that the lens has an internal autofocus motor.  **Special note:  Lower end consumer bodies will need lenses that have “AF-S” in order to autofocus because the camera body itself does not have an AF motor.**
ED – Extra-low dispersion glass (reduces color fringers)
IF – Internal focus (nothing moves outside the lens)
VR:  Vibration Reduction (identical to “IS” for Canon)
G:  Gelded (really only matters in terms of cost reduction, but also removes compatibility with older (non-digital) cameras)
N:  Nano coating (only present on the high end “pro” lenses)