Home Forums Let’s Talk Photography Second shooting, how do you do it?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    thenegativeone
    Participant

Hi guys,

I’m an amateur photographer looking to improve, I’m wanting to get into wedding photography/portraiture and I’m having a hard time of it. I see a lot of advice saying do a few shoots as a second shooter for an established pro but it’s damn near impossible to get anywhere with that.

I must have contacted every photog in my area asking for an opportunity to second shoot or assist, even if it’s just lugging their gear about in order to watch and learn and get some practical experience but they either say no or flat out ignore me.

I understand that they don’t want to be training up someone who may eventually become their competition but surely everyone has to start somewhere no?

To be honest I’m out of ideas and it seems like I’ll never get the opportunity to learn to a point that I’m confident to go it alone, how did you start? How would you deal with this?

picstop
    Participant