Home Forums Photography Showcase Request for honest feedback

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Ian

I am a beginner when it comes to photography so I would appreciate any and all feedback. Am I faux or on the right track!

Ian
    cameraclicker
    Participant

Ian, I have no idea how this:

https://www.eyeem.com/p/72461043

got 7 hearts!  With any luck, this is a link to lots of spider photos:

https://500px.com/search?q=spider&submit=Submit+Query&type=photos

How do you think yours compare?

Your rock:

https://www.eyeem.com/p/72421130

is out of focus!  Once again, 7 hearts!  For a photo where nothing is sharp!  By the way, that photo has motion blur.  You moved the camera while the shutter was open.

Your latest post (I think),

https://www.eyeem.com/p/73537056

is an interesting abstract still life.  It got 18 hearts, which suggests your social networking skills are better than your photography.  But, if you are just starting, keep exploring and studying.  You will improve.

Your selfie,

https://www.eyeem.com/p/73177936

is focused on the plant behind you, and the plant is acting as a halo!  There doesn’t seem to be any EXIF data associated with your photos.  If you are using a camera (as opposed to a phone), put it on a tripod, or on a shelf and use a remote shutter release or the self timer.  Prop a broom on a chair to provide a focus target, then turn off autofocus once focus is achieved.  Before the shutter releases, remove the broom and replace it with your face.  When photographing living things, most of the time you want the eyes or at least the nearest eye to be in focus.  There are exceptions.  Sometimes you may have someone hold their drink at arms length toward you, and you focus on the drink and blur their face for effect, but for a portrait, the eyes should be sharp even if nothing else is.