Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Hobbyist seeking honest critique

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    happylinuxguy
    Participant

I’m a hobbyist photographer, mostly not of people.  I think I learn at least a little something every time I go out and take pictures.  I almost always shoot in RAW.  I almost always shoot in manual.   Sometimes I  feel like my pictures come out bad because of my lack of knowledge.  Other times I feel like I’m limited by my camera/lenses.  A lot of times I’ll really like some pictures I took for a while and then realize later on looking back that they really weren’t that great.  I would never take pictures of people and charge them for it.  I may get decent pics of people sometimes, but it’s pretty hit or miss.  Not being able to guarantee a level of quality, I would never feel justified charging someone at my current skill level.  I think my weakest point in general might be my composition.

I was very impressed by the brutal honesty and usefulness of some of the other critiques here.  People are too nice on other sites.  I even tried joining a critique group on flickr and really didn’t get much useful feedback.  So, fire away.  All my camera settings should be visible there on flickr.

Here are a couple links in particular that I feel were some of my better pics, but I still see  a few issues with them.  I’m hoping you guys may be able to point out more.  Or feel free to point out flaws in general for my pics on flickr.

Coronado Bridge @ Night

Main thing I see… the boat is a little blurry from movement during the long exposure.

Tempe Town Lake Bridge

The lights and city in the background aren’t very sharp and I’m not sure if the composition is what one would consider good.

fautox1977
    Participant

Although a hobbyist, I believe that you are an above average landscape photographer. You are right – not so good with people.