Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Feel like being brutally honest?

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    rerunvp
    Participant

Newbie here! Thanks to Stumbleupon, I came across this site and I just signed up days ago. I crack up looking at the photos and your comments.

Since 2011, I have been seriously contemplating on developing a plan to pursue photography as a career. However, my busy schedule as an owner-agent of an insurance office (yeah, that’s really fun, I know) for over 10 years kind of keep me busy. But I really enjoy photography and would like to get your honest opinion to see if I have what it takes.

So fire away and give me your thoughts on what’s crap, what’s okay, what’s good, potential/no potential, or keep my day job, etcetera. I don’t take things too seriously and I know what I am getting myself into that I won’t be butt-hurt after I get my beating. I can appreciate criticisms especially from strangers, although I value the ones from friends and families but those can be very subjective. You, on the other hand, can be very objective.

Things are a bit “everywhere” — FB account here, website there, a blog and a flickr account (I have not updated these in a while). I need to consolidate for sure. Just a little bit more about me —  no formal photo schooling or education, I shoot RAW with my 5D Mark II and 7D, I have a couple of L-lenses 24-70 and 70-200, and a couple of primes. If you guys don’t think I have what it takes, anyone want to buy my gear, let me know. Haha… kidding.

http://clicksnpics.com/

http://facebook.com/clicksnpicsphoto

http://www.flickr.com/photos/j_jo/   —   the softball photos were for a friend, so you can ignore those

Thanks in advance. I have other follow up questions for those who do this professional, but I will wait for your comments. But please identify yourself if you do have a photog business because I’d like to pick your brains a little more on the business aspect of it all.

Jeremy