Home Forums Let’s Talk Photography Could've, should've, would've

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    no one special
    Participant

I don’t even shoot weddings, but this missed opportunity kind of pissed me off

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=970437093026101&id=673664349370045

EyeDocPhotog
    Participant

What was your missed opportunity?

no one special
    Participant

not my missed opportunity. The photog really fucked this up, so i guess a it’s a real photographers opportunity, or the wedding guests.

EyeDocPhotog
    Participant

I don’t see what the photographer missed – IMHO, from the description, it appears that the father’s actions were completely extemporaneous, taking everyone by surprise. I’m not sure how any photographer at a ceremony could be prepared for such an eventuality.

As a hobbyist, my eyes do not see a missed opportunity capturing the moment, and neither did quite a few hundred thousand others.

But seriously, do wedding photogs run into such situations at the ceremony usually? Serendipitous, fast-paced moments at a carefully choreographed – normally slow-moving – wedding procession at which most families will say “Thank heaven he caught that!”

cameraclicker
    Participant

Lots of squinting people.  Lots of racoon eyes.  Some white balance issues.  But if you can’t get a good shot, at least get a shot.  Preserve the memory.  That happened here and it got almost a million likes!  Probably the likes are for the story rather than the photos, though the photos confirm the text.  Lucky bride!  Two caring fathers and mothers.