Home Forums Main YANAP Discussion Forum A funny job ad I found

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    PruskiWawrzyniec
    Participant

Hi everyone

Newbie here.

I was interested to see how it is to be a photographer in the UK and was looking up some job ads (pure curiosity, I know my place 🙂 )

I came across this, it seems that they are asking for trouble from the start, as they are looking for someone experienced with “canon mark IIIs” 🙂

http://www.indeed.co.uk/cmp/Nice-Images-Ltd/jobs/E-Commerce-Photographer-3776f8ebb2d66734

I get that this is probably the gear the provide and that the ad is written by someone who doesn’t know photography, but this is exactly my point: why is the ad written by someone who doesn’t know photography? Couldn’t they give it to one of their photographers to read before posting?

Their portfolio looks nice (I wouldn’t know, but it is far from what I see on this site) so why post something that immediately makes them look amateurish?

http://niceimages.net/

P.S. obviously I didn’t apply, even if I was experienced I only know 600D 🙂

EyeDocPhotog
    Participant

I think they have a pretty sophisticated site, and some fine quality work. It certainly seems they are high end and have the skills to deliver.

I imagine they asked for experience with a Mark III because they probably shoot with them and don’t want to change their editing workflow (and changing all their presets within Capture One version 7).

PruskiWawrzyniec
    Participant

EyeDoc – like I said: I do get that, but I still think that it looks weird if the ad specifies the use of a very particular camera, instead of other skills.

In your opinion: how long does it take for an experienced let’s say Nikon shooter to grasp the differences when using a Canon camera? Genuinely asking here, as I don’t know myself.